Dispatches from the War Room
Inside The War Room
How to read and evaluate history
0:00
-56:14

How to read and evaluate history

On today’s episode, I have Dustin Bass and Alan Wakim, hosts of the Sons of History Podcast, to chat about how to read and evaluate history.

Links from the show:

About my guests:

Dustin Bass

A love of research and a love of history.

I was born in 1981 - the son of a preacher man. I was born and raised in Houston where I grew up to become a trifecta Houston sports fan (Astros, Rockets, and Texans), a journalist - now small business owner, an author, and a Golden Gloves Champion.

I'm a graduate of Sam Houston State University and was literally the last student to receive a Journalism degree from SHSU (because they had changed the program to Mass Communications by the time I registered to receive my diploma). I was on one of those six-year degree programs.

Alan Wakim

A man about history.

I was born in a small Oklahoma town to a pilot and political exile father from Lebanon - and a stay-at-home mom in 1967. We later moved to Houston where my family settled.

I am self-educated in history, geography, politics and foreign cultures. In 1974, I began reading history books – starting with the battles of World War Two and the life of President John F. Kennedy. In middle and high school, I immersed myself with the political and military histories of the 20th century, including the contemporary events and political leaders of the Cold War. I found myself easily absorbing the information that came my way.

Before graduating with a BBA from Texas A&M University in 1989, I found my history classes to be the most interesting and, for me, the easiest to excel in. Although I worked in the financial and technical industries, my knowledge of history as a hobby expanded to geography, politics, culture, literature and religion when tied together. This expanded to different periods in world history: classical, medieval, and modern.

0 Comments
Dispatches from the War Room
Inside The War Room
Host Ryan Ray brings on the best guests to break down the most important issues.