Dispatches from the War Room
Inside The War Room
An Overview of Irish History
0:00
-52:41

An Overview of Irish History

with Dieter Reinsch

Links from the show:

About my guests:

I hold a PhD from the Department of History & Civilization. For more recent updates on my research and my writings, please check my new website: www.ofrecklessnessandwater.com.

I am a historian, university lecturer, and writer who loves an Oxford comma. I hold a PhD from the Department of History & Civilization at the European University Institute in Florence, Italy; and an MRes also from the EUI and a Mag. phil from the University of Vienna. I am currently an adjunct professor at Webster Vienna Private Universty, and a lecturer at the Department of History, University of Vienna, and at the Department of Gender Studies, University of Salzburg. 

In May 2019, I will be a visting fellow at the Moore Institute, NUI Galway. From June to September 2019, I will be a DAAD-Postdoctoral researcher at the Institute for Social Movements, Ruhr-University Bochum. In October 2019, I will start a Junior Fellowship at the Institute for Advanced Studies, Central European University, in Budapest.

I also work as a (occasional) freelance journalist. In 2018, I wrote for Washington Post, Die Presse, Der Standard, Die Furche, ORF, Belfast Telegraph, and Junge Welt. I contributed to radio shows on ö1, MDR, and RBB. Besides that, I am a passionate blogger and my writings appeared, among others, on The Pensive Quill, Writing The Troubles, Political Violence at a Glance, and The Irish Story, as well as my own blog.

My research interests are Irish & British history, modern history, contemporary European history, oral history, memory studies, social movement studies, political violence & terrorism studies, radicalisation and de-radicalisation, imprisonment and internment, Irish studies, and gender studies. (For the abstract of my PhD thesis, my supervisors and the members of my examination board, click here…)

I am an Editorial Board member of “Studi irlandesi. A Journal of Irish Studies” (Firenze University Press), and I co-organised the international conference “Irish History, Society & Culture: 100 Years after 1916” with Lorenzo Bosi (SNS) & Fiorenzo Fantaccini (UniFi). At the EUI I was, furthermore, an organiser of the Working Group “‘These Islands’: Ireland, Britain and the Empire.” 

Before conducting my PhD project, I studied history in Vienna, Austria, and Belfast, Ireland. In autumn 2016, I was a visiting researcher at the Faculty of Arts, University of St. Andrews, Scotland.

I am the author of Die Frauen der IRA: Cumann na mBan und der Nordirlandkonflikt, 1967-1986 (Vienna: Promedia 2017) and the editor of Der Urkommunismus: Auf den Spuren der egalitären Gesellschaft (Vienna: Promedia 2012). My publications appeared in various peer-reviewed (and not so peer-reviewed) journals; among those are Irish Political Studies, BIOS, Studi irlandesi, Estudios IrlandesesOral History, Keltische Forschungen, and Socheolas. At the time of writing, my two main publication projects are two book projects on imprisonment during the Northern Irish conflict and Irish republican organisations in contemporary Ireland.

I am a member of the Oral History Network Ireland, the Oral History Society Britain and Northern Ireland, the International Federation for Public History, the Societas Celtologica Europea, and the European Federation of Associations and Centres of Irish Studies.

That’s it for now, if you have any further questions, please do not hestitate to contact me. Until then, enjoy my writings!

0 Comments
Dispatches from the War Room
Inside The War Room
Host Ryan Ray brings on the best guests to break down the most important issues.