Dispatches from the War Room
Inside The War Room
Rana Mitter China's Good War: How World War II Is Shaping a New Nationalism
0:00
-47:44

Rana Mitter China's Good War: How World War II Is Shaping a New Nationalism

Episode 17

Depending on where you hear me speak, you might be confused about my stance on China. I love China! I love the Chinese people. What I don't like has mainly to do with what their government does. Which makes it hard, at times, to just chat about China. This is why I was so excited to chat with Rana Mitter about China's history, especially as it pertains to pre and post-World War II. It was a lovely conversation and I hope you enjoy it. His work, in my opinion, is brilliant and should be something we all read. Yeah, ya boi is a fanboi! I did my best to keep up with him, and I hope you enjoy our conversation. I mentioned I was a fan, right? Below is a link to his most recent book and other spots I've heard him speak.Bio: Professor of the History and Politics of Modern China; Fellow of St Cross CollegeProfessor Mitter studies the emergence of nationalism in modern China, both in the early twentieth century and in the contemporary era. He is particularly interested in the impact of China's war with Japan in the 1930s and 1940s on the development of Chinese politics, society, and culture. Here is a link to his book - China's Good War: How World War II Is Shaping a New NationalismSpeeches that I have watched, here, here, here, here, here, and the SupChina podcast we mentioned. Tomorrow, we'll have Mark Rossano's Flamethrower Friday, so buckle up, and I'll have a short commentary about a tech censorship story that has some interesting implications.

www.warroommedia.com

0 Comments
Dispatches from the War Room
Inside The War Room
Host Ryan Ray brings on the best guests to break down the most important issues.